Updated Daily: The Urban Issue Webinar/Streaming List

August 18, 2020

Updated: 9.21.2020

With all these conferences and sessions taking their talents online I thought it might be a good idea to list them.  If you have any ideas send them in to [email protected] or tweet @theoverheadwire. Click through to see them all…

September 10th – 24th

Beyond the Visible: Space, Place, and Power in Mental Health – Yale University

 

September 21st – 25th

Transport Innovation Online Summit 2020

 

September 22nd – 30th

2020 MetroLab Summit

 

Tuesday, September 22nd

Noon ET/ 9am PT – Association for Community Design Conference, with Keynote by Oscar Perry Abello – NextCity

3.30pm ET/ 12.30pm PT – The Affordable City – SPUR

 

Wednesday, September 23rd

Noon ET/ 9am PT – Building Smart cities: San Francisco 3D-LiDAR based Smart Traffic Management – Quanergy

3pm ET/ Noon PT – The Transit Agency’s Guide to Joint Development – Rail-Volution

3.30pm ET/ 12.30pm PT – Using the Public Realm to Support Local Business During the Pandemic – SPUR

5pm ET/ 2pm PT – The future of reliability – Swifty

8pm ET/ 5pm PT – History, Humanity and Community Planning – SPUR

8pm ET/ 5pm PT – Housing Solutions for Health Justice – YIMBY Action

 

Thursday, September 24th

3.30pm ET/ 12.30pm PT – Implementing Successful Value-Driven Transportation Pricing – SPUR

 

Friday, September 25th

2pm ET/11am PT – Can we alleviate racism and systemic inequality by expanding broadband during COVID-19? – Brookings

5pm ET/ 2pm PT – Uncommon Ground: Centering Racial Equity for a Better America – ICMA Events

 

Tuesday, September 29th

2pm ET/ 11am PT – Capacity Impacts of Connected and Autonomous Vehicles – TRB

2pm ET/ 11am PT – Can E-Cargo Bikes Chart a Sustainable Path Forward for Delivery? – Populus

3.30pm ET/ 12.30pm PT – Economic recovery in American cities: A conversation with Chicago mayor Lori Lightfoot – Brookings

3.30pm ET/ 12.30pm PT – Keeping Tenants Housed During the Pandemic – SPUR

5.30pm ET/ 2.30pm PT – The Changing Face of Urban Planning and the Need for Just Environments – FAU

 

Wednesday, September 30th

1pm ET/ 10am PT – Transportation Equity in a New Era – Meeting of the Minds

1pm ET/ 10am PT – Angie Schmitt on “Right of Way” – Next City

1pm ET/ 10am PT – What will Stick? Assessing COVID’s Impacts on Cities – University of Oregon

2pm ET/ 11am PT – Safe Routes for Older Adults: Walking, Cycling, and Transit – Safe Routes Partnership

2.30pm ET/ 11.30am PT – Reimagining Public Engagement in Parks and Public Spaces – Park People

4pm ET/ 1pm PT – Building back better: A stronger social Europe – What role for cities? – Eurocities

 

Thursday, October 1st

8am ET/ 5am PT – Cities and Transport Infrastructure: Ethiopia’s experience governing connection points – LSE

1pm ET/ 10am PT – Governing Data to Improve Transportation Asset Management – TRB

1pm ET/ 10am PT – Vision 2022: When California Leads, the World Soon Follows – SPUR

 

Wednesday, October 7th

1pm ET/ 10am PT – How To Launch Community Conversations That Create A Sense of Inclusion and Belonging – NextCity


Thursday, October 8th

1pm ET/ 10am PT – Equity, Housing, Transit and the Next Federal Reauthorization – Rail-Volution

 

Tuesday, October 13th

1pm ET/ 10am PT – Advancing Transportation Equity – TRB

 

Wednesday, October 14th

2pm ET/ 11am PT – How Accurate are Traffic Forecasts? – TRB

 

Thursday, October 15th

8am ET/ 5am PT – Mapping as Social Ethnography – LSE

 

Thursday, October 29th

8am ET/ 5am PT – Towards compact, connected and clean cities in Mexico: the role of national transport policy – LSE

 

Thursday, November 12th

8am ET/ 5am PT – Urban governance in Addis Ababa – LSE

 

Thursday, November 26th

8am ET/ 5am PT – StoryMapping: Johannesburg’s Toxic Atmospheres – LSE

 

December 2nd – 10th

NACTO’s Designing Cities 2020: Virtual Convening

 

Thursday, December 10th

8am ET/ 5am PT – Towards a flood resilient future – LSE


Listen to the Talking Headways Podcast

Testimonials

…the first thing I read every morning is the newsletter to see what’s been out there. It’s great to have an aggregator that pulls everything together so nicely.

Joe Cortright, City Observatory


I think that the email newsletter that you do every morning is the best one that I get, and I get a lot of them.

Mary Newsom, The UNC Charlotte Urban Institute


Really is the best daily urban newsletter out there.

Eric Jaffe, Editorial Director Sidewalk Labs

Subscribe

To Receive The Overhead Wire in Your Inbox Daily

Premium Daily Subscription

The Premium Daily Subscription is our most information packed offering, chock full of over 30 pieces of news every single day. Included are popular features such as the quote of the day and the most read article from the previous day. Also included is our weekly roundup for times when you are strapped for time but need to know what’s going on.

Premium Weekly Subscription

The Premium Weekly Subscription is for professionals constantly under a time crunch. We take the most read items from the week before and share them with subscribers along with more in depth analysis of a single popular topic.

Learn More and Subscribe

Top Links

of the past 48 hours

Video of the Day

Friends of The Overhead Wire

Back To Top

Welcome to The Overhead Wire

What Can We Help You Find?

Try Our Newsletter For Free